• Wichita Falls Independent School District 

    Regional Day School Program for the Deaf (RDSPD)

    Auditory Impairment

    A student with an auditory impairment is one who has been determined to meet the criteria for deafness as stated in 34 CFR, 300.8(c)(3), or for hearing impairment as stated in 34 CFR, 300.8(c)(5). The evaluation data reviewed by the multidisciplinary team in connection with the determination of a student’s eligibility based on an auditory impairment must include an otological examination performed by an otolaryngologist or by a licensed medical doctor, with documentation that an otolaryngologist is not reasonably available, and an audiological evaluation performed by a licensed audiologist. An audiological evaluation shall include a description of the implications of the hearing loss for the student’s hearing in a variety of circumstances with or without recommended amplification. Services are provided through the WFISD in a variety of settings when AI eligibility and an educational need have been determined for the Region 9 ESC area. Services are also provided ages 0-3 in collaboration with the Helen Farabee Center ECI Program when eligibility is met.

     

    Contact Information

    Susan D. Mayo, M. Ed

    Deaf Education Coordinator 

    sdmayo@wfisd.net

    940-235-1019 x14020  

     

    Campus Contact Information

    Cunningham 

    (940) 235-1147

    Lucita Consuelo

    lconsuelo@wfisd.net 

    Deanna Draper

    ddraper@wfisd.net

    Brandi Ward, SLP

    bward@wfisd.net

    Deandra West

    dwest@wfisd.net  

     

    McNiel 

    Melinda Nelson

    mnelson@wfisd.net

    (940) 235-1118

     

    Rider

    Susan Ehman

    sehman@wfisd.net

    (940) 235-1077

     

    Education Center

    Amy Bohac

    abohac@wfisd.net

    940-235-1019 x 14032