Skip To Main Content

Booker T. Washington AP Named Region Assistant Principal of the Year

Booker T. Washington AP Named Region Assistant Principal of the Year


March 9, 2023 - Wichita Falls ISD is excited to announce that Booker T. Washington assistant principal, Synquis Lewis, has been named Region Assistant Principal of the Year for Region 9 by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). The peer-based award recognizes assistant principals for their commitment to student learning as evidenced by exceptional school leadership.

One of these educators will be selected as the 2023 National Assistant Principal of the Year for Texas. Supported by Horace Mann,  the national award recognizes leaders who are committed to excellence through programs designed to meet the academic and social needs of all students; have firmly established community ties with parents and local business organizations; show strong educational leadership by setting high expectations for school staff and students; and exhibit exceptional leadership in a particular school program.

Honorees will be recognized at the TEPSA Awards Celebration Wednesday, June 7, at the Round Rock Kalahari. The 2023 TEPSA Region Assistant Principals of the Year are:

  • Virginia Romero, Rangerville Elementary, San Benito CISD, Region 1
  • Yadira Cortez, Tuloso-Midway Intermediate, Tuloso-Midway ISD, Region 2
  • Katherine Schuelke, Chandler Elementary, Victoria ISD, Region 3
  • Tammy Sebesta, Decker Prairie Elementary, Tomball ISD, Region 4
  • Sommer Reynolds, Little Cypress Elementary, Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, Region 5
  • Julie Brenner, Branch Elementary, Bryan ISD, Region 6
  • Angela Shine, Mineola Elementary, Mineola ISD, Region 7
  • Andy McCarter, Wake Village Elementary, Texarkana ISD, Region 8
  • Synquis Lewis, Washington Elementary, Wichita Falls ISD, Region 9
  • Jaime Tracey, Partin Elementary, Van Alstyne ISD, Region 10
  • Jason Winans, Stowe Elementary, Birdville ISD, Region 11
  • Deborah Barkley, Killeen Elementary, Killeen ISD, Region 12
  • Shawn Maxwell, Carpenter Hill Elementary, Hays CISD, Region 13
  • Shannon Barnett, Bonham Elementary, Abilene ISD, Region 14
  • Michele Beers, Bradford Elementary, San Angelo ISD, Region 15
  • Sarah Ratliff, City View Elementary, Canyon ISD, Region 16
  • Kim Moore, Bennett Elementary, Frenship ISD, Region 17
  • Josie Mata, Bonham Middle, Ector County ISD, Region 18
  • Summer Steele, Tippin Elementary, El Paso ISD, Region 19
  • Michelle Allen, Salinas Elementary, Judson ISD, Region 20

“These assistant principals play a critical role in ensuring student success. We’re proud of their leadership and commitment to Texas students and teachers,” said TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart.