Return to Headlines

West Teaching Excellence Awards Delivered to Twenty Teachers

Picture of West Teaching Excellence Award winner, Monica Trevino celebrating with her students.
Superintendent Mike Kuhrt and Associate Superintendent Peter Griffiths visited 14 schools on Friday, September 29 to surprise 20 teachers who were named the 2017 West Teaching Excellence Award Winners.

The coveted West Teaching Excellence Awards have been a district tradition since 1983. The honor is provided by the West Foundation. The 20 teachers selected this year are considered tops in the field of WFISD's 1,200 teachers.
Mr. Kuhrt and Mr. Griffiths announced each win by striding into the winner's classroom, interrupting the teaching, and telling the students that their teacher had won one of the district's most prestigious awards.
In 1983, the West Foundation established its tradition of honoring the 20 best WFISD teachers each year. From the beginning, they have selected recipients of high moral character and talent without limiting themselves to specific schools, grades, subjects or career lengths.
They look for candidates who exhibit a positive attitude, classroom enthusiasm, poise, and dedication to their teaching craft. They also look for teachers who value continued learning. Teachers are nominated by their principals.
Winners have received checks up to $5,000 apiece from the West Foundation, making this a $100,000 gift from the Foundation directly to WFISD teachers.

The winners will be honored at a banquet on Thursday, October 19
The 2017 West Teaching Excellence Award winners are:
Teri Brownfield, Burgess Elementary
David Cavitt, Hirschi High School
Lisa Crumpler, Booker T. Washington
John Davison, Barwise Middle School
Danielle Enlow, Milam Elementary
Stacey Hohertz, Kirby Middle School
Michelle Keller, Milam Elementary
Lenora Krugle, Kirby Middle School
Tiffanny Lindsey, Franklin Elementary
Gloria Ornelas, Lamar Elementary
Jennifer Parker, Barwise Middle School
Debbie Pepper, Wichita Falls High School
Britney Prickett, Crockett Elementary
Jane Ramirez, Rider High School 
Lori Roberts, Kirby Middle School
Megan Scroggins, Southern Hills Elementary
Kim Thorne, Cunningham Elementary
Monica Trevino, Zundy Elementary
Cheri West, Southern Hills Elementary
Amy Yeary, Barwise Middle School