Return to Headlines

West Teaching Excellence Awards Presented to Thirty-Five Teachers

West Teaching Excellence Awards Presented to Thirty-Five Teachers

Picture of the West Teaching Excellence Award Winners
Superintendent Mike Kuhrt and Associate Superintendent Peter Griffiths visited 24 schools on Friday, October 5 to surprise 35 teachers who were named the 2018 West Teaching Excellence Award Winners.

The winning teachers were recognized at an awards reception at the Career Education Center on Monday, October 22.
The coveted West Teaching Excellence Awards have been a district tradition since 1983. To celebrate the 35-year partnership between WFISD and the West Foundation, the number of teachers recognized this year increased from 20 to 35. The teachers selected this year are considered tops in the field of WFISD's 1,200 teachers.
In 1983, the West Foundation established its tradition of honoring the best WFISD teachers each year. From the beginning, they have selected recipients of high moral character and talent without limiting themselves to specific schools, grades, subjects or career lengths.
They look for candidates who exhibit a positive attitude, classroom enthusiasm, poise, and dedication to their teaching craft. They also look for teachers who value continued learning. Teachers are nominated by their principals.
The 2018 West Teaching Excellence Award winners are (photo attached):

·      Alex Alejandro, Zundy Elementary

·      Lisa Aranda, Barwise Middle School

·      Randy Baskin, Rider High School

·      Jayme Beckham, Crockett Elementary

·      Stephanie Benson, Sheppard Elementary

·      Lekeysha Brown, Haynes Elementary

·      Teri Brownfield, Burgess Elementary

·      Leslie Callahan, Kirby Middle School

·      Cathy Casillas, Cunningham Elementary

·      Stephanie Cauthen, Farris Head Start

·      Mark Dudley, McNiel Middle School

·      Kelli Gates, West Foundation Elementary

·      Kellie Hare, Booker T Washington Elementary

·      Tonisha Hedge, Hirschi High School

·      Jessica Hernandez, Lamar Elementary

·      La'Chandra Hooper, Sheppard Elementary

·      Kristin Howard, Jefferson Elementary

·      Janet Hughes, Booker T Washington Elementary

·      Amy Janjgava, Milam Elementary

·      Allison Kafer, Fowler Elementary

·      Courtney Kittrell, Franklin Elementary

·      Lexi Law, Career Education Center

·      Taysha Matos, Scotland Park Elementary

·      Robert Maxwell, Lamar Elementary

·      Patrick McCauley, Wichita Falls High School 

·      Jessica Mitchell, McNiel Middle School

·      Berta Nihof, Southern Hills Elementary

·      Heather Preston, Rider High School

·      Rosendo Ramos, Zundy Elementary

·      Boroskie Richard, Wichita Falls High School

·      Frank Tarver, Fain Elementary

·      Tracy Tisdale, West Foundation Elementary

·      Autumn Weber, Career Education Center

·      Amber West, Career Education Center

·      Amy Yeary, Barwise Middle School